In North Carolina, it is illegal to drive a jet ski for a person under the age of 14. For the age group from 14 to 16 years old, the accompaniment of an adult (from 18 years old) on a jet ski is allowed. They can also drive a jet ski themselves if they have: In Maine, it is illegal for anyone under the age of 16 to drive a jet ski. However, if a person belongs to the 16 to 18 age group, he or she is allowed to operate a jet ski if: Persons born on or after July 1, 1996 may not legally operate a motorized vessel with more than 6 horsepower unless they have received a boating safety certificate and it is in their possession. Arizona has made it illegal for anyone under the age of 12 to operate a personal watercraft. In principle, they made it illegal to use a ship with more than eight horsepower. This includes personal watercraft. The legal age for jet skiing varies from state to state, but we`ve done some research and listed the most popular “jet ski states” in this article. You can`t jet ski in Florida if you`re under 14, even if you get a Florida water safety card.
But remember that you are not allowed to rent a jet ski if you are under 18. If you own a jet ski, it is also illegal to allow another person to drive your jet ski if they are under 14 years old. For more information on Florida boat laws and regulations, click here. These 14- and 15-year-olds are legally allowed to operate a personal watercraft if they have received a boating safety certificate, and in Arizona, no one under the age of 12 is allowed to operate a personal watercraft without a parent, guardian or person over the age of 18. (Source) Michigan has legalized the driving of jet skis for anyone 14 years of age and older. Arkansas has legalized 14-year-olds to use PWC themselves as long as they have BE. For people under the age of 14, i.e. 12 or 13, they must be BE certified and have an 18-year-old on board You can jet ski alone in Texas if you are 13 or older and have successfully completed the Texas Boating Safety Course. If you are under the age of 13, you can still go jet skiing if you are supervised by an adult who meets the legal requirements.
In the state of Alabama, it is illegal for anyone under the age of 12 to operate a personal watercraft. Guests between the ages of 12 and 13 must have someone 21 years of age or older on board. Persons over the age of 14 can obtain a boat licence to operate a personal watercraft on their own. (Source) In Virginia, it is illegal to drive a jet ski before the age of 14. If you`re 14 or older, you can legally use a jet ski in Virginia if you take the state`s boating safety course. “How old do you have to be to legally go jet skiing?” – It depends on your condition! Indian has made it legal for 15-year-olds with valid ID and educational requirements to ride a jet ski. For people aged 16 and over, a valid driver`s license is required to drive a jet ski with a power greater than 10 HP. There you go. I hope you now know if you are of legal age for jet skis in your state or not. Otherwise, let`s not rush and wait until it`s safe.
However, if you are good, let`s go into the water. Have fun skiing. Since these requirements vary from state to state, be sure to check local laws to stay safe and legal on the water. Also note that age limits may vary in the case of jet ski rental. In addition to legal restrictions, landlords in many cases have their own regulations for age limits; for both operators and passengers! The legal age to jet ski in West Virginia is 15. In addition, you must have adequate training for boaters. Persons born before 1 July 1996 can legally operate a boat without restrictions. Yes, absolutely. Patrols regularly check the credentials of young operators. In some areas, wake-jumping with your jet ski is illegal. I do not agree with this law because I believe you can do it safely and have fun. Persons under the age of 14 are not legally permitted to operate personal watercraft (e.g.
jet ski, wave runner). To legally operate a personal watercraft in California, you must be over the age of 16 and have a California boater card. While the term “boat license age” is often used to describe the age at which you can legally operate a boat, it`s important to remember that each state has unique laws regarding boater training requirements and the age of the boat`s operator. Learn about the legal age of the boat and boater training requirements for your condition. Be a safe and responsible boater. Even this minimum age of 16 is only a recommendation from manufacturers, but for good reason. You know what today`s powerful jet skis are capable of and how dangerous it can be if the rider is inexperienced or irresponsible! How to cut your kite while kitesurfing: the complete guide In Illinois, you must be at least 13 years old to operate a personal watercraft on your own. Persons between the ages of 10 and 12 can operate it under the supervision of their parents or guardians.
In Colorado, you must be at least 16 years old to operate a jet ski independently. However, if you`re under 16 and can`t wait, you can take a boating safety course and you`re good to go. You can go jet skiing in Rhode Island regardless of your age. However, if you were born after January 1, 1986, you will need to be certified. Also, in many cases, there are different age limits for jet ski rentals, depending on the condition or the rental company`s guidelines. So if you live in Alabama, you know that your state has set a minimum age to use a personal watercraft. Before continuing, a personal watercraft is a personal watercraft that includes jet skis, wave racers, personal watercraft, etc. Speaking of age restrictions in towing, the good news is that in many states, there is no age limit to take the subway. But also check the stickers on the tube, as different inflatable boats are recommended for drivers of different ages.
Vermont has made it mandatory for all jet skiers to be 16 years of age or older and to have a valid boat safety certificate. To operate a personal watercraft in Maine, you must be at least 16 years old and hold a boating safety certificate. Boat laws vary from state to state. The minimum age to operate a personal watercraft in a state is 12, and many states may require supervision for individuals under the age of 16. A majority of states also require those wishing to use a personal watercraft to complete a nautical training course in order to obtain a vessel card or certificate. You may have noticed that most states require some sort of safety training for personal watercraft operators, and you may be wondering what that means. These trainings are organized by the National Association of State Nautical Law Administrators and briefly cover the basics of safety while enjoying the water. Classroom attendance is rarely required, as these safety courses can usually be taken online. You can learn more about the New York Security Course by clicking here.
Once you have completed the course, you can download and print a security certificate. This certificate is sometimes called a boat license. In West Virginia, you must be at least 15 years old to operate a personal watercraft unsupervised. Guests between the ages of 12 and 14 must attend a safety course and be supervised by an adult. It is important to know that in most states there is no age limit for jet ski passengers. This means that your children can be passengers regardless of their age, so the answer is yes, a 2-year-old can go jet skiing according to the law. The minimum age in American Samoa for jet skiing is 18. Since you would be old enough, you do not need a senior to be on board. It`s as if as soon as summers arrive, people literally run to the water`s edge to enjoy all kinds of water sports. This is especially true for jet skis. Today`s jet skis are not water toys, and since they are extremely powerful vessels powered by 200-300 horsepower engines, they can reach an incredible top speed of 60 to 70 mph.