The age of consent in Wyoming is 17. [ref. needed] Age of consent is a legal term for the age a person must reach to give consent to sexual relations. If an adult engages in any type of sexual activity with a person under the age of consent in that state, he or she is committing a crime, even if the minor has declared that he or she consents to have sex. In 2011, legislation was proposed to allow people over the age of consent who are close to their victims to remove a judge from the sex offender registry.  This bill, HB 1139, was drafted by Republican Representative Robert Pritchard.  An editorial in the Chicago Sun-Times supported the bill.  Emily McAsey, a Democratic MP from Lockport, opposed the idea, saying she was “troubled” by the idea of a romantic relationship between a 14-year-old and an 18-year-old. Republican Rep. Dennis Reboletti of Elmhurst said he doesn`t think judges should be able to overturn prosecutors` decisions. The bill passed the Illinois House Judiciary Committee II in February 2011 by a 4-3 vote and was sent to the Illinois Senate.
 The age of consent in Pennsylvania is 16 for sexual consent.    The age of consent was previously 14 but was raised to 16 in 1995.  If someone knows a child thirteen years of age or older, but under fifteen years of age, carnally, without violence, that person is guilty. Crime. For the purposes of this section, (i) a child under thirteen years of age is not considered to be a consenting child and (ii) “carnal intercourse” includes sexual intercourse, cunnilingus, fellatio, analingus, anal intercourse and animate and inanimate sexual penetration of objects. Different jurisdictions express these definitions differently, such as Argentina, may say that the age of consent is 18, but an exception is made until the age of 13 if the older partner does not have a position of authority over the younger. The following data reflect what each jurisdiction`s legislation actually means, not what it says superficially. Baker Island, Howland Island, Jarvis Island, Johnston Atoll, Kingman Reef, Palmyra Atoll and Wake Island are part of the Pacific Remote Islands Marine National Monument. Therefore, all U.S.
federal laws regarding the age of consent would apply. Specifically, New Jersey state law outlines three circumstances of sexual assault in which the age of consent is relevant. In Utah, the minimum age for consenting to sexual behavior is 18. (All age groups mentioned are “at the time of action.”) Under the Romeo and Juliet exception, it is legal for minors aged 16 and 17 to engage in consensual sexual acts with partners under the age of 7 and up to 10 years older if the eldest did not know the age of the minor.  No child under the age of 13 may consent to a sexual act. Therefore, no one can have consensual sex with a person under the age of 13 without violating Virginia Code Sections 18.2 through 61. In the case of aggravated sexual assault (a first-degree crime), a person must have committed sexual penetration (i.e., intercalary, oral, sex, or something inserted), while (1) the victim was under the age of 13 or (2) the perpetrator exercised legal or professional authority over the victim, who was between the ages of 13 and 15. (All other conditions for aggravated sexual assault do not affect the age of consent in New Jersey.) In Maryland, the age of consent is 16. People 15 years of age or younger may not consent to sexual activity. In addition, Maryland does not have an age-related exemption. So if two people under the age of 15 have consensual sex, both could be prosecuted for rape.
The age of consent in Kentucky is 18. Consensual sex with people who are at least 16 but not yet 18 is only allowed if the actor is less than 10 years older than the younger party. Section 510.020 of the Revised Statutes of Kentucky (KRS) considers that a person is incapable of consenting if he or she is under 16 years of age or 16 or 17 years of age and the other party is at least 10 years older.  (Prior to July 2018, consensual sexual intercourse with someone 16 years of age or older was permitted, regardless of age difference.) The state legislature passed Law 2010-497, which criminalizes any school employee having sexual relations with a student under the age of 19. A school employee includes a teacher, a school administrator, a student teacher, a security or resource guard, a trainer and another school employee. The age of the student and consent are not a defence. Therefore, the age of consent of 16 cannot be used. However, there are some exceptions. In Texas, there is something called the “Romeo Juliet” law that can protect young adults or teens under the age of three who are both over the age of 14 and who voluntarily have sex. In these cases, a sex crime defendant could be reduced or even dismissed. Keep in mind, however, that children under the age of 14 can never legally consent to sexual behavior. A state law makes it illegal for a teacher and a “minor” student defined as “at least sixteen years of age.” The Washington State Supreme Court ruled that this policy applies to all high school students up to age 21, which is the age limit for high school enrollment under state law.
 Sections 1303 and 1304 of the Commonwealth Code also criminalize sexual activity with persons aged 18 or 19 if it is “in the custody of the Department of Public Health and Environmental Services under the civil or criminal laws of the Commonwealth and the offender is the legal guardian of the person.” The age of consent, which at the time only applied if the girl was the youngest, was 10 when California introduced its penal code in 1850. In 1889, the age of consent was raised to 14. In 1897, the age of consent was 16. The age of consent in California has been 18 since 1913. Some media sources have reported that the age of consent in California in the 1970s was 14 or 16, but in fact it was and was 18.  In most states, there is no uniform age at which a person can agree, but consent varies depending on the minimum age of the youngest party, the minimum age of the oldest party, or age differences. Some states have a uniform age of consent.  Thirty U.S. states have age difference laws that legalize sexual activity if the ages of both participants are close to each other, and these laws are often referred to as “Romeo and Juliet laws.”  Other states have measures that reduce sentences when both parties are close to each other in old age, and others offer a positive defense when both parties are close in old age.  Although state laws differ with respect to the general age of consent and age differences, it is common for people in the United States to assume that sexual activity with someone under the age of 18 constitutes legal rape.  (d) Accused of adolescence.
— In the case of sexual offences where the age of the victim is an element of the offence because the victim has not yet reached the age of sixteen years of age of the victim, if the person committing the sexual act is not more than 4 years of age than the victim, the fact that the victim “knowingly” consented to the act within the meaning of section 231 of this Title constitutes an affirmative defence. Sexual behavior according to this section is not a crime. This affirmative defence does not apply if the victim had not yet reached the age of twelve at the time of the offence. The general age of consent in Connecticut is 16. This is true for most relationships. The age of consent in Colorado is 17; However, the legislation provides age-related exceptions that allow persons aged 15 and 16 to commit acts with persons under the age of ten and persons under the age of 15 with persons under the age of four. However, a 17-year-old cannot consent to have sexual relations with a person who is in a position of trust towards the person under eighteen years of age. S.C.R. 18-3-405.3. [ref.
Based on these cases, it is clear that communication with 16- and 17-year-olds is only legal for general sexual activity, as long as this behavior is not illegal behavior or would be illegal in real life (such as the situation of the teacher/student, the situation of the foster parent/foster child, the significant circumstance of relational violence, or asking or attempting to ask for illegal images, to induce these young people into prostitution). In addition to the Basic Law on Consent, KRS has additional consent laws that cover a variety of other situations: The legal age of consent varies from state to state in the United States from 16 to 18.